Board of Trustees and Administrators

SMPS School SignAs a Parish school, the ultimate responsibility for St. Matthew’s Parish School resides with the Rector, Wardens and Vestry of the Parish of St. Matthew. In order to ensure the orderly operation of the school, the Vestry established a Board of Trustees, whose members serve three-year terms, renewable, with four new members seated annually. The full board meets six times per year and is responsible for the school’s finances and formation of policies by which the school will be operated. The board works closely with the Head of School and accomplishes much of its work through its standing committees and various task forces. The standing committees include Finance, Facilities, Development, Executive, and the Committee on Trustees.
Board of Trustees 2022-2023
Carrie Dalton, Co-Chair Andrew Devkar
Alexander Thain, Co-Chair Ryan Harter
Adam H. Braun, Vice Chair Michele Havens
James Huser, Treasurer & Board Rep. to the Vestry  Alison Murphy
Hallie KimSecretary Kevin O'Malley
Janet McKillopAdvancement Chair Rosalind Nieman
Stu Work, Interim Head of School Dr. Pedram Salimpour
The Reverend Bruce A. Freeman, Rector Kristin Waters
Terry McCarthy, Board Rep. to the Vestry Hilary Wynperle
Kimberly Ling, Vestry Rep. to the Board  
Anne Burkley, Parents' Council President  

Head of School and Administration

Stu Work
The Head of School is the chief administrative officer of the school, appointed by the Board of Trustees and the Rector. The Head is responsible to the Board for the development of the entire academic program and for the direction of the of all activities and operations necessary to the professional work standard of teachers, supervision of students, maintenance of educational and behavioral standards, formulation and review of curriculum, and managing and planning the School's operating budget and any major facility improvements.
Stu Work is the Interim Head of St. Matthew's Parish School.
Kristine Vardanyan
The Director of Early Childhood Education works under the direction of and reports to the Head of School. The Director provides leadership, vision, and strategic direction for St. Matthew’s Early Childhood Education Program and is responsible for sustaining and improving the academic excellence and school readiness for children enrolled in the Little Falcons, Preschool and Pre-K Programs. The Director provides leadership development to supervisees and maintains positive relationships with the Department of Social Services, National Association for Education of Young Children and all other critical stakeholders.  
Dr. Kristine Vardanyan is the Director of Early Childhood.
The two Principals work under the direction of and report to the Head of School. One Principal oversees the curriculum, instructional practices, student counseling, operations, and admission for Kindergarten through Fourth Grade, the other for the Upper School (Grades 5-8). Both Principals confer regularly with the Head regarding faculty, staff, students, curriculum, parents, budget, and policy matters.
Dr. Maya Kelly is the Interim Principal for Grades K-4.
Marisa Soulios
The Principals meet and communicate regularly to ensure the coordination of programs, policies, and operations throughout the entire school. In addition to responsibilities specific to respective program levels, each Principal performs overarching or school-wide roles in support of the School's routine operations.
Marisa Soulios is the Interim Principal for Grades 5-8.
The Director of Enrollment oversees and directs the admission and enrollment program to achieve the School's enrollment goals in support of its mission and vision. The Director leads and implements the School's admission policies by overseeing the entire admission process from interviewing and evaluation of prospective students to the integration of new students into the school collaborates closely with the division principals and works with the Director of Finance to oversee the financial aid program.
Carinne Barker is the Director of Enrollment.
The Chaplain is responsible for developing and implementing programs within the school, which focus on the spiritual growth of the children of St. Matthew's. Responsibilities include overseeing the liturgical life of the school through weekly chapel services, providing pastoral care to students and families, teaching courses in religious education, and coordinating the School's community service program.
The Reverend Stefanie Wilson is the School Chaplain.
ElaineW The Director of Technology and Innovation oversees all technology programs and initiatives for the school, including the 1:1 iPad program, technology resources, maker spaces, online resources, the campus network, as well as professional development in technology.
Elaine Wrenn is the Director of Technology and Innovation.
EllenP The Director of Finance plans and manages the school's budgets. 
Ellen Pfahler serves as the Director of Finance.
JuanaO The Director of Human Resources and Executive Assistant to the Head of School plans and manages all benefits, assists with recruitment and new hiring processes, and is in charge of compliance for all employees. The director is a member of the Senior Administration team, the Los Angeles Episcopal Diocese Benefits Committee, and is a member of the Board of Trustees Diversity and Inclusion Committee. As the Assistant to the Head of School, she works directly in support of the Head of School and Board of Trustees.
Juana Rodriguez Ochoa is the Assistant to the Head of School & Director of Human Resources.